diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

I apologize for keeping everyone in suspense. The package that arrived earlier this week was, in fact, Jenn's Valentine's Day present: the entire first season of M*A*S*H on DVD.

(She does not, notably, have a DVD player or any sort of DVD playing device, nor can her TV or VCR even be hooked up to a DVD player. This means she's gonna have to come over to my place more often.)

Her gift for me was a very nice shirt, called a "grandfather shirt" for some reason. We think it's because it doesn't have a collar. I've never seen either of my grandfathers wear shirts without collars. In fact, when I was home for Thanksgiving, we had a conversation with my grandfather about the collar of his shirt. It seems that the collar was getting worn, so he wanted a new shirt for Christmas. When he was a kid, he said, during the Depression, his mother always used to turn the collars of his shirts when they were worn. But rather than make my grandmother or my aunt do the same for him, he just wanted a new shirt.

"Harvey" opens tonight - the first time I've been on stage (in a scripted play) in almost a year. Wish me luck...


< previous | random | next >


2002-02-15, 3:08 p.m.
grandfather shirt

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...