diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

In my quest for a good Internet radio station to listen to at work, I have finally succeeded.

One of my group members showed us the MSN music site as a source of ideas for the stereo system we're designing. Yes, this site is run by Microsoft, but they're not doing anything objectionable with it, and all I had to give them is my e-mail address, which I figure they probably have by now anyway.

I'm a bad geek in that I can't bring myself to unconditionally hate Microsoft. They're doing a lot of really good usability work nowadays, and putting a lot of money into the usability industry, which is respectable. Also, geeks who hate Microsoft unconditionally tend to piss me off.

Anyway, this site is good for the following reasons:

  • It doesn't skip as much as independent net radio stations.

  • It hardly has any ads.

  • It's got pretty good music categorization, which I am super-picky about. You can tell it "Play me songs that are like this artist, or this album, or this song", and it's pretty good at it.

  • It's got lots of obscure music - specifically, obscure music that I like.

  • Best of all, it just played "Stonehenge" from This Is Spinal Tap. It's already got me pegged.


    < previous | random | next >


2002-07-09, 3:24 p.m.
so they don't trod upon it

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...