diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

I've been trying real hard not to think about all the "last"s that I've been hitting this week. Last day of classes EVER, last homework assignment EVER, last term paper EVER... I'm not very good at dealing with "last"s, or at least, I wasn't a few years ago.

I guess I've gotten better at it, because yesterday I finally faced up to the fact that I may never go to school again, for the first time in 16.5 years. Strangely, I didn't get sentimental this time around.

Now tonight, tonight was a different story. I was surrounded by people forcing me to be sentimental. Tonight was my last improv show, and though I don't talk about it in here much, improv has been pretty important to me throughout college. It's really been one of the only constants throughout my college career, from beginning to end. Improv, Bot, and, strangely enough, Chandler, who lived on my floor freshman year and, as it turns out, is also going to work for Astronaut Central.

I did it in style, though - stayed on stage the whole show, played every freaking game. Hosted a mammoth game of Party Quirks where everybody in the troupe played, and all the quirks were somehow related to me. (Not that they told me this ahead of time, of course.) Stage-kissed (with the hand covering, fear not) every single male member of the troupe. My voice, ravaged by a cold that I've otherwise managed to dodge, was on the verge of giving out the whole time, but it served me well. And honestly, if I'm going to lose my voice, that's the way to do it.

I got a standing ovation for my troubles, as did my faithful director, as this was her last show to direct.

I don't know... I don't really feel any different now that all this is behind me. Maybe the extra semester helped me get to where I feel like I'm ready to move on with my life. Yeah, I guess college was pretty short and all, but I'm ready for the next thing.

Bring it on.


< previous | random | next >


2002-12-07, 12:44 a.m.
ten

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...