diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

Today I had lunch with an old friend whom I've barely seen in two years.

Let's call her Monica, because as it turns out she's having a secret romance with one of her friends and only one of her other friends knows about it.

(I don't typically make up code names for people here, but that one's too good to resist.)

We caught each other up on everything, I found out what's going on with my freshman year floormates, she found out the details of my engagement which I had leaked to her at the corner of Morewood and Forbes a few weeks ago. We talked about our classes, and she complained about the annoying grad students in her literary theory classes. (who will be Jenn's classmates next year! Fun!)

We talked about Mullholland Drive, towards which she expressed the same kind of guilty enjoyment I had. As soon as the word "semiotic" escaped her lips, she forcibly stopped herself. "I'm sorry, I'm getting ridiculous," she said.

Anyway, she's moving to Austin in January to live with her boyfriend, who is in my program and has already signed with Trilogy. Chandler (obviously not his real name, but I figured I'd complete the analogy) has already balanced their budget, figuring in a $0 income for her, and managed to come away with a $300/month "toy budget".

I, on the other hand, am hoping to eventually get a job, and thus am mentally preparing myself for the campus job fair on Thursday. Wish me luck.


< previous | random | next >


2002-09-17, 5:12 p.m.
lunch with Monica

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...