diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

I had a meeting with the more reclusive of my two bosses yesterday.

"I hear you're starting to think about looking for a new job," he says in a tone which indicates that he approves.

"Yeah, but probably not until closer to [big conference]," I answer.

"That's good. You don't want to get people excited and then not have the timing work out." I nod, as this is exactly what I've been thinking.

He suggests talking to the company that spun off from his research group, as they're doing better than they were they last time I heard about them two years ago, when they laid off half of their employees.

I see an opening. "Say, does your wife still work for, uh..."

"[Totally rad company]? Yeah."

"Are they looking for people?"

"Gee, I don't know. I haven't asked that question in a while."

Beat.

"Ex-wife, by the way."

Doh!


< previous | random | next >


2004-02-18, 9:09 a.m.
it's ok, they're on good terms

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...