diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

In my last entry I made a flippant reference to my walls leaking.

This turns out to have been worse than I thought.

I had a little trouble getting to sleep last night because my wall was still leaking, and the noise of the dripping on the kitchen floor was keeping me up. So I rigged up an elaborate system of towels to try and catch the moisture, and went to sleep with a pillow over my head.

I was awakened at about 3 in the morning by a second dripping sound. My ceiling, jealous of the attention my wall was getting, had decided to get in on the action.

Right over top of my television and other electronic equipment.

So amidst much swearing, I wheeled my television out from under the dripping and placed yet another towel under the offending spot.

When I got up in the morning, the dripping had gotten worse, all towels were now saturated to the point of uselessness, and a third leak had developed right over my monitor.

I called maintenance to report this. ("Okay, we'll pass that on to maintenance." What the fuck? Who did I just call, then?) Realizing the futility of the towel solution, I employed the services of every pot and pan in my cupboards. This seemed like a reasonable short-term solution.

Needless to say, I was a wreck the whole rest of the day, partly because I hadn't gotten a good night's sleep, and partly because I kept envisioning the pot on top of my monitor filling up and tipping over, spilling large amounts of water all over my computer, CD player, and what have you.

Fortunately, when I got home, the leaking had stopped, and the pots and pans were only about a quarter full. I don't know what happened, maybe maintenance came and fixed it, maybe it stopped by itself.

Blah. Everyone needs a bad day once in a while.


< previous | random | next >


2002-11-07, 5:07 p.m.
drip

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...