diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

Some dude is already watching "Modern Times", which is putting a damper on my already lame Sunday evening post-football plans. So now I'm updating my diary from the library.

I was walking across campus to get here and I passed by a girl leaning against a pillar talking on her cell phone. As I approached, her conversation drifted into earshot.

"Yeah... I don't know, I just feel - "

She cuts off immediately as she notices me approaching. She looks just slightly off to the side of me, obviously trying not to seem like she's looking at me. I walk by, and as soon as I'm on the other side of the pillar - out of her line of sight, note, but clearly not out of hearing range - she tries again: "I don't know, I just feel responsible."

Well, you know, if it's that private, you probably shouldn't be talking about it on a cell phone in public.

I don't know, cell phones are weird. On the rare occasions that I've talked on one, borrowed from a friend to make an emergency call of some sort, I've noticed that when you're paying attention to the conversation you're having, you kind of get sucked in and forget you're in public. That would certainly explain the behavior I witnessed.

I think that, having made all the great technological advances we've made in the last ten years that allow us to communicate with anyone, any time, anywhere, the next step for us as humankind is to maybe not communicate quite so much.


< previous | random | next >


2002-01-27, 4:54 p.m.
less communication

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...