diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

Explain to me how I can wait for an hour and 20 minutes for a bus that runs every 40 minutes. (For those keeping score, that's 80 minutes, so there's no way that at least 2 busses shouldn't have come by.)

Explain how I can see two busses on the same route going the other way before I see a single one going my way.

Explain it! Now!

I'm sorry. I shouldn't take it out on you. It's just... honestly, I have better things to do with my day than stand at a bus stop.

Jenn's at her parents' for the weekend, so this was pretty much my only chance to do some... erm... shopping. You know, shopping I can't do with Jenn. Unfortunately, this meant that I had to take the dreaded 59U.

Okay, bear with me here. Say you're a developer, and you've got a new waterfront shopping district. Now, considering that college students spend a lot of money on entertainment and food, which are the primary products of your development. And consider that college students are certainly the most likely demographic to patronize places like Dave & Buster's or Abercrombie & Fitch. Wouldn't you want to make sure that the only bus route running from the city's two largest colleges to your development doesn't suck?

A theory: perhaps it's a racist ploy by the developers to keep the area "upper-crust" by discouraging "undesirable" elements, i.e. those that don't have cars.

Well, if that's the case, then it didn't work very well, because I saw plenty of working-class types down there.

Theory the second: perhaps it's the city, in spite of the developers, deciding that now that they've given us free bus passes, they're tired of shipping busloads of college students down to the movies.

Whatever. All I know is, the time I spend waiting for busses is the time I spend really wishing I had a car.


< previous | random | next >


2001-09-01, 2:29 p.m.
bus conspiracies

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...