diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

I am rocking out to "SMPTe", the debut magnum opus from Transatlantic, a side project consisting of Neal Morse (Spock's Beard), Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater), Pete Trevawas (Marillion), and Roine Stolt (Flower Kings, whom I will not be going to see at Rosebud in two weeks, because Katie has a Wednesday night class). I love this album. Almost all the music was written by Neal, so it plays like a Spock's album with a more exaggerated Beatles influence. And Neal is perhaps the only prog singer whose vocal range is anywhere close to mine, so I can sing along without busting a vocal cord.

Being the hardcore Spock's fan I am, I purchased the "limited edition" of "SMPTe". I found out that the "limited edition" consisted of a second CD containing remixes of two of the first disc's five tracks, one demo version of same, two covers (Hendrix and Beatles), and, if you put the CD in your computer, some home movie footage from the recording sessions. A little wanky, I thought, so when I found out that the second Transatlantic album, being released in October, would also have a limited edition, I resolved not to fall for it.

But damn it! The second disc has a cover of my favorite old-school Beatles song ("And I Love Her"), plus a cover of "Shine On You Crazy Diamond", which Jenn really likes. Damn you, Morse. You've milked me for another $11.

Tonight, Jenn and I are going to see "Dancer in the Dark" on campus.

Now, let me back up a little and give you some history. I'm almost ashamed now to admit that I was once the victim of a mild crush on Björk. There was something about her powerful, haunting, inscrutable mystique that I found appealing. It wasn't really a sexual attraction, and it certainly wasn't founded in respect for her musical talents (as you can deduce from researching the links in the first part of this entry).

Jenn knew about this before we started dating (me and Jenn, not me and Björk), and once we did, she made it clear that she didn't exactly approve. Well, it was really more that she was totally baffled. So we didn't really talk about it.

Then "Dancer in the Dark" came out. As we were walking by the Manor Theater in Squirrel Hill one afternoon, I pointed out the title on the marquee. "You know who's in that?"

"Who?"

"Björk."

She shot me a withering glance. I didn't even think of suggesting that we go see it.

The situation looked hopeless. Then came the 2001 Academy Awards.

We were in Florida for Spring Break, visiting Ayne at UFL, and watching the Oscars on TV. Then we hear: "Ladies and gentlemen... Björk!"

Lights up on the elfin Icelandic songstress in this ridiculous white dress with a swan head coming out one side and a tuft of feathers on the other.

"That's it," I proclaimed. "I'm over her. No more Björk for me."

Jenn looked at me, her eyes bright and full of hope. "Are you sure?"

"Yes," I affirmed stoically. "I'm through with that."

It was the end of an era, and I felt liberated. I felt like a new man.

But we've both heard that "Dancer in the Dark" is a good movie, and movies on campus only cost a dollar, and we don't have anything better to do tonight.

Is it going to be weird? Is it going to be like going to see a play your ex-girlfriend is starring in? Will it bring back painful memories? Drive a wedge into our blissful relationship?

Or will it just suck?


< previous | random | next >


2001-08-30, 3:13 p.m.
supergroups and elfin songstresses

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...