diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

Time to bitch about my classmates.

I was in my Computer Music class today. Now, keep in mind that I've been really psyched about this class for a good four or five months now. I've never been more excited about a class than this one. So anyway, I got there early in order to secure a seat near the front, as Dr. Ruth has a rather soft voice.

This girl sits down next to me, one of the two music majors in the class. Well, sort of in the class - as we were passing around a sign-in sheet on which we were to indicate whether or not we're on the waitlist, I noticed her writing a little note which said, "I was in the class, then I dropped it, then I added it again but now I'm on the waitlist." (For those keeping score, this is a "yes" for "Are you on the waitlist?")

Class starts, and I soon discover that this girl has the tremendously annoying habit of constantly talking under her breath, but loudly enough for the person next to her to hear. She responds to everything the teacher says, but apparently only for her benefit and mine. Am I supposed to acknowledge this speech? Chuckle politely at her inane "witty" comments? Strike up a conversation?

This gets more and more irritating as the class goes on. Dr. Ruth is demonstrating how the music library we're using for the class works. She's showing us the function to play a note at a certain pitch. And every time she plays a note, Music Major Girl names the goddam note. "Middle C," she pronounces smugly, or, "B Sharp." Who needs perfect pitch when you've got Music Major Girl?

Later in the class, the professor asks a question. "Why did this happen?" she asks.

I raise my hand. "print-pitch didn't return a value, and pitch+int was expecting a value as input."

This wasn't quite what she wanted. "That's right, but why did it play the note?"

I hear a voice behind me chime in. "It happened in print-pitch."

Okay, first of all, I'm answering the question, bitch. Second of all, she doesn't even say this loud enough for the professor to hear. She's saying this for my benefit. Because obviously I'm too stupid to answer the fucking question myself. I need her help. Everyone needs her help, because she is omniscient.

I shake it off. "The note was played when..."

"It happened in print-pitch."

She's still talking. I'm trying to answer the question, and she's repeating her answer over and over, making it very difficult for me to speak.

I finally manage to get the answer out. She's apparently satisfied, because she stops talking.

Next week, I'm getting there extra early, to make sure I'm not stuck sitting next to her again.

Oh yeah - and if I find out who the stupid fucks talking at normal conversational volumes throughout the entire class were, I'm going to pound their faces in.


< previous | random | next >


2001-08-29, 6:49 p.m.
perfect pitch is overrated

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...