diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

I saw an interview the other night with a 101 year old shotputter, and that shit was inspiring.

The interviewer asked him what the most impressive thing he had seen over the course of his lifetime was. "Electricity," he replied.

Electricity! This guy grew up reading by oil lamps. He must feel like he's living in The Jetsons. When I'm old, will there have been such a profound change in the way people live? The only invention since I've been born that's really changed people's lives at all is the Internet, and compared to freaking electricity, that's a pretty minor change.

He then offered a runner-up. "I still find it amazing," he continued, "that you can take a CD record, and you can't even see the perforations in it, and beautiful music comes out."

I guess it takes 101 years of perspective to really appreciate the heights of human endeavor. How much stuff do we take for granted, seriously? "Of course," we say. "Bounce a laser off of microscopic ridges and produce music. That's obvious."

"Have you ever broken any bones?" the interviewer asked. His response: "I broke this arm 100 years ago."

Then he threw a shotput 12 feet, and sang "When I'm 64".

It was pretty surreal.


< previous | random | next >


2003-04-17, 11:17 a.m.
will you still feed me

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...