diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

A couple of weeks ago I was fooling around with the code for the driving simulator we're using for the project I'm working on. Among other things, I was getting it to work with a steering wheel made for computer games, trying to make it feel more realistic.

At the time, I almost felt guilty about it, like it was close enough to making a video game that it couldn't possibly be real work.

This morning, my officemate's curiosity finally got the better of him and he asked me about the project. I explained it to him, and then asked what he was working on.

Turns out he's writing cognitive models to play Unreal Tournament.

Needless to say, I'm feeling less guilty now. To complete the process, I think I'll get botanologia to tell me again about the guy who did his Master's thesis on the Incredible Hulk.


< previous | random | next >


2003-04-23, 12:01 p.m.
what people won't do with grant money

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...