diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

My computer music teacher (Dr. Ruth) loves me.

She knows my name, for one, which puts me in the top 10% of the love scale.

And she's complimented me on my understanding of the material.

You know why she loves me?

Because I answer questions in class.

And then I realize...

Crap. I'm that kid.

You know, that kid who sits up at the front of the class (but it's because I can't hear her!) and answers all the questions (but it's because nobody else will!)

If I don't answer the questions, the class proceeds at an excruciatingly slow pace. Dr. Ruth constantly underestimates the skill level of the students and overestimates their willingness to speak in class. She'll ask the most blazingly obvious questions, questions to which she just said the answer, in a desperate attempt to get anyone to say anything, to indicate that they're following the material. And nobody ever does.

So, partly because I feel bad for her, and partly out of self-interest, as I want to get through the material because it's interesting and I like it, I answer the questions.

Maybe it's okay because I'm only answering easy questions. Maybe it's okay because I wait a while before raising my hand, then answer in a tone of voice that makes it perfectly clear that I'm only answering this question out of duty, and I know that everyone else knows the answer, and I'm not trying to show off how smart I am.

I don't want to be that kid.


< previous | random | next >


2001-09-17, 10:02 p.m.
I am that kid

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...