diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

I'm going to an opening at an art gallery tonight for Jess's man-friend. Twenty-somethings represent!

I have no business being at an art gallery event. Not that I'm a philistine, but I don't really know how to appreciate art. I often feel like I can't really take things in on a spontaneous or emotional level - I have an analytical approach to most things. This is why I'm drawn to complex music; I like to listen closely and analyze. The problem with art is that I don't have the background to analyze it like I do music, and as I understand it most modern art resists that kind of analysis anyway.

I mean, of course I can look at a picture and go, "That's pretty." But you can't do that in an art gallery without feeling like a total choad warrior. Art just doesn't stir up deep emotions in me like I feel like it's supposed to.

As expected, some of you valiantly defended your favorite lyrics in response to yesterday's entry. And Don, no fair invoking Larry Hart, you know that's not what I was talking about. One response I felt I needed to highlight was from this guy, who simply pointed me at the website of some emo guy with one album. (I'm not linking to the site, since it appears to be down.) Let's take a look:

Can you please, remind me how you feel?
This emptiness is real, I can't bear the thought of it.
and please, remind me how to smile, I lost track after awhile.
Is happiness so hard to get?

Is it me, or is this over?
As I got sober, I watched you fade away.
Is it me, or is this ending?
As I was pretending, I watched you fade away.

Jesus, we get it, you're emo. "This emptiness is real"? And "fading away" is a sentiment that's been done to death ever since 1990. This reads like 9th grade poetry.

No offense if you like the guy. It just doesn't do it for me.

On a more positive note, badgers.


< previous | random | next >


2003-09-12, 11:09 a.m.
philistine

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...