diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

I'm going to try to be as vague as possible here, so nobody gets fired.

I was scrambling to get my time card turned in today. I still need to find Prof. J or Prof. K to sign it. As I was explaining my dilemma to the woman to whom I turn in my time cards, and I mentioned Prof. J, she says, "Oh, you're her TA..."

I should backtrack and say that a week ago, whilst checking my bank account, I noticed that the deposit from payroll was rather large. About 4 times larger than expected, in fact.

Turns out said woman thought that I was a real TA, the kind who teaches recitation, and those TAs get 20 hours a week automatically, no matter how much they actually work. But she's going to "let it ride" - she's "more worried about underpaying us than overpaying us".

I have a policy that at least 10% of all money that comes into my possession that I did not technically earn does not remain in my possession. When Dad took me gambling last summer - 10% to the church. This time around, I made my donation to the Red Cross - they've made it very easy, thanks to Yahoo.

I haven't yet heard back about either of the research jobs, which in a way is a good sign, because if they were already taken, I'd probably have gotten at least one e-mail already indicating as much.

Jobs jobs jobs jobs. Tuesday is the Technical Opportunities Conference, where seniors in technical majors go and disport themselves in nice suits and drooling corporate headhunters clamber over each other for their resumés. At least, that's how it used to work before the job market went to shit. We'll see what it's like this year.


< previous | random | next >


2001-09-21, 9:53 a.m.
mystery solved

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...