diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

The work I've been doing here since I got hired is being encapsulated in a paper and submitted to CHI, which is a Conference of Huge Importance.

Our results are great! Our tool produces output that's 10 times more accurate than the old tools! An expert user can do in 3 minutes what used to take half an hour!

And as for a novice user...

Well, that's what we wanted to figure out today. Novice users are handled a bit like porcelain figurines in my field, because they're only novice users once. If your stuff malfunctions, you have to find yourself a new novice user.

I was pretty confident in my system. I had tested it many times, and even my boss could get it to work fairly reliably. (For those of you who are new here, my boss has magic powers when it comes to breaking things.)

I think you can guess where this is going, because I'm telegraphing it pretty heavily.

Suffice it to say that it refused to work for our novice user. Repeatedly. For an hour and a half.

It's cool, though, cause Sree has totally got my back.


< previous | random | next >


2003-10-01, 1:22 p.m.
Murphy

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...