diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

My parents, along with one set of grandparents, were up this weekend for my graduation. I haven't seen all of them since they came up for Harvey in February, so we hung out with them all day Saturday.

At one point the conversation got around to family history. Mom and Grandmom have both dabbled in geneaology, researching the family tree on Mom's side. Grandmom was telling us about some of the interesting names she'd found - like the woman named Mourning Bachelor, or Father Lusty, the Lutheran minister.

"We thought that the Lustys might have come from the Isle of Wight, but then we found out that they were from a smaller island called the Isle of Dingle."

There's a pause for a few seconds, then Grandmom finally cracks and starts giggling like a 4-year-old. "Dingle!" she giggles.

My grandparents are the best.

And now I'm a college graduate. I've got a diploma and everything. Granted, I'm still a college student, and I'm going right back to work on Wednesday, so it doesn't really feel much different.

But my parents are getting me a car, so I'm sure not complaining.


< previous | random | next >


2002-05-20, 3:25 p.m.
dingle!

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...