diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

Some might say that you can't know you're living life to the fullest until you've lived it a little too much.

I don't think I'm going to let myself off quite that easy...

Due to an unfortunate lapse in judgement on Saturday, I'm still feeling kind of off, like something hasn't clicked back into place yet. (Not physically, just in general.)

But I've been forgiven for Saturday, and here's why. (I didn't even necessarily feel the need to post this, but Jenn told me to.)

I'm at Jenn's last night, reading a xeroxed packet about the making of Vertigo, which I had watched several hours prior. From the computer, where she is sitting, I hear a telltale series of sighs and groans. Jenn is having trouble with her science homework.

Eventually she gets up in a huff and storms into the bathroom, where she changes into her pajamas. She sits down on the bed, looking miserable.

"What's wrong?" I ask.

"Nothing," she says, in that voice that quite clearly means the exact opposite of "nothing".

Her ex had forgotten to pick up the class notes on a day when she was absent, and she needs those notes to complete her assignment.

I can tell she's upset because she's using hyperbole. "There's no information on it anywhere on the Internet. This class is so stupid. I'm gonna fail and then I won't graduate and I'll have to work as a waitress." She starts crying.

I comfort her for a few minutes, then walk over to the computer, scroll halfway down the first page of Google results she's pulled up, click on a link, and inform her that I've found the answer to the first question. She thanks me meekly and returns to her work, and I to mine.

Several minutes later, she comes over and sits next to me. "Gus?" she says in her best frightened churchmouse voice. "I love you very much."

Oh boy. This is gonna be good.

"I just realized I already have the notes."

You know, if you only know us by reading our diaries, you'd probably think we have a really dysfunctional relationship. I assure you this is not the case. It's just the dysfunctional parts are much more interesting to read about.

We're only thinking of you, dear readers.


< previous | random | next >


2002-03-19, 12:19 p.m.
in my defense

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...