diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

I have had a crazy day.

My first order of business was proctoring an exam at 8 in the morning. My post during this exam was the room where the think-aloud I had recorded with Lisa was playing, which meant I got to watch the accursed video about 15 times.

Afterwards, we launched into a grading frenzy, managing to complete all the exams in a scant three hours. This put me at 2:30.

At 3:30, I had to be present for final presentations in the other class I'm TAing. This gave me an hour to do the following:

  • Pick up my timecards.

  • Go home.

  • Fill out my timecards and pick up my backpack. (Notice the distinct absence of "shower".)

  • Go back to campus.

  • Get my timecard signed.

  • Hang up the improv posters I forgot to hang up yesterday.

  • Turn in the order form for my yearbook photos, which I had discovered in an envelope from my mom in the mail during step 3.

All this, and I managed to get to class on time. (Sweating like a hog.)

Each of the two classes today filled out little feedback surveys, and each survey had a question about me. Instant job feedback! Very nice.

The class consisting of HCI majors were asked how comfortable they were speaking with each member of the course staff. I'm proud to say that I was well on the "comfortable" side of everyone's scale, frequently above the professors.

Katie, of course, scored higher than me on every sheet. This is partially because she has classes with a lot of the Masters' students, but also because she is a super-friendly (and attractive) girl. (The fact that everyone in the class was comfortable talking to an attractive girl illustrates the difference between computer science and HCI.)

The E-Commerce students were asked simply to rate me from 1 to 7 (1 being good). Again, I scored quite well, with only one complaint about my grading; the lowest I got was a 4.5, which is just below half. Positive comments ranged from "cool" to "excellent" (verbose, these students) to "yasou!" (I can only assume this was from the Greek student.)

After this long (8.5 hour) work day - never mind that I have a final project due Saturday, a take-home exam due Monday, and two exams Monday and Tuesday, plus the E-Commerce final projects to grade - I was happy to come home to a scrumptious chicken alfredo dinner prepared by my girlfriend whom I do not deserve.

I was also happy to find in my inbox a job offer from Prof. K for a research assistantship. Score!


< previous | random | next >


2001-12-13, 5:46 p.m.
crazy day

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...