diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

Work is approaching the point of intolerable boredom.

I've been doing almost nothing for the past week, and yet my supervisor is still extremely impressed with my work. The 25-slide presentation that I spent 5 days putting together? He loved it. That's 5 slides a day, folks. 5 of them are placeholder slides, so that's only 4 slides' worth of actual content per day, and that content is essentially summarizing what I wrote in the paper, plus a few screenshots. All told, I probably spent about 5 hours total on the thing. And he loves it. "Great work," he tells me, as he pats my shoulder.

And since that's done, I'm pretty much done too. Yesterday he told my co-worker and labmate, who finally came back from a week-and-a-half absence, "Don't start anything you can't finish by the end of the summer." So that precludes me from doing any work on the next phase of the project, since I've only got 7 days total left here, and there's no way I could get it working in that time. Not that it'll matter anyway, since the project is pretty much dead after this summer.

I'm barely resisting the temptation to start playing games online at this point. I feel bad getting paid for this, but there really is nothing to do. Plus, I remember that a lot of the funding for this project comes from the Department of Defense, and then I don't feel so bad for wasting their money.

Jenn surprised me by offering to cook for my mom when she comes to pick us up tomorrow. We are, after all, college students, and a parent's visit usually means scoring a free meal at a restaurant. But if she feels like cooking, more power to her. I would say that she's trying to make a favorable impression on my mom, but I can't imagine that Mom's impression of her could be any more favorable than it is.


< previous | random | next >


2001-08-09, 11:16 a.m.
the point of intolerable boredom

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...