diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

If there was one skill I wish I had...

No, scratch that. I'd have to think way more about this in order to be able to say something that broad, and if I did, I'm sure I'd come up with a skill I'd want more.

The point is, I wish I was better at giving advice.

I pride myself on being a pretty good friend, and I've always considered giving advice to be one of the more important functions of a friend. But it's a function I don't think I've ever been much good at.

I've flubbed it twice in the last few days, the first time by not even trying. I think the problem is that I've got no endgame. I'll be like, "You should do this," and the friend will be like, "I know I should, but..." and I've got nowhere to go from there. I've tried "Do it or I'll kick your ass," I've tried relating personal experiences, but nothing seems to work.

Of course, just as often I don't even get that far. The best I can come up with is, "Yeah, that sure does suck. Sorry."

tinselet told me last night that she thought I was "against downloading," after I mentioned that I had found The Secret of Monkey Island somewhere online. (In this particular case, it was more or less legal to download it, since I used to own the game way back when.) I'm trying to figure out why she got that impression. Do I come across that way to anyone else?

On a totally unrelated note: Sure you do. That's why you won't even put her on your freaking favorites list. You know what they say: "If wishes were horses, then you're an assmunch."


< previous | random | next >


2003-04-04, 8:46 a.m.
adviceless in Pittsburgh

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...