diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

I spent the day yesterday assisting Prof. J with a presentation at a monolithic corporation in the Detriot area.

I'd never really been exposed to old-school corporate life before. It was all there - the corporate "campus", the cafeteria, the men in button-down shirts. They even had large televisions showing their internal corporate TV network, including for some reason commercials for their own products.

I didn't really get to see Detroit proper, as the location we were visiting was on the outskirts, and all of Detroit's highways run through the city in these sunken troughs.

The Detroit airport is a desolate little place. Between the grimy linoleum floors and the dilapidated drop ceilings, it reminded me for all the world of a junior high school.

However. There's a restaurant there called "Jose Cuervo's Tequileria". The menu is four pages of drinks and one page of appetizers and entrees.

They had a large television displaying what I can only assume was the Jose Cuervo Network, as it featured some Mexican dancing and the occasional subliminal message, e.g. "Vive Cuervo!" It seems that the theme of my trip was large televisions and propaganda networks.

I don't even care whether "Tequileria" is a real word or not. All I know is that after two 13-hour days this weekend and a stressful trip, having a margarita and hearing the story of the only time Prof. J got drunk was exactly what I needed.


< previous | random | next >


2003-12-09, 9:00 a.m.
the fine Colombian

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...