diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

Last night I went to my first real concert in almost two years.

Deep Purple was headlining, with Dio and the Scorpions opening. Hair metal has always been a guilty pleasure of mine, and nobody sings hair metal better than an aging, balding German man in a backwards baseball cap.

I dragged Jenn along, though she kept insisting that I wasn't dragging, she likes Deep Purple. She ended up enjoying herself as much as I did, and even admitted to liking the Scorpions. (Follow the link and you'll see why that's weird.)

We got absolutely drenched towards the end of the Scorpions' set, and shivered the rest of the time, but somehow that didn't make us totally miserable.

Maybe it's because Deep Purple fucking rules. I'm serious - I knew that I should like them, I'd just never heard much of their stuff beyond "Smoke on the Water". But they totally blew me away. And their lead singer has a great British sense of humor.

Also, the Scorpions played "Wind of Change", which they have owed to me for three years, since the last time I saw them when they didn't play it. What's up with that?

All in all, it was a great concert, and I'm definitely looking forward to the other two I'm going to this summer.

And for the record, yes, Dio did play "Holy Diver".


< previous | random | next >


2002-06-16, 5:08 p.m.
superb

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...