diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

I may not exactly have all of my career ambitions figured out at this point in my life, but there's one thing I do know:

I don't want to work for a fucking rockstar.

I'm not talking about actual rockstars here. In fact, I think wildly popular musicians are the only people with any right to act like rockstars.

Back in the day, that's what "rockstar" meant. I'm using it in a broader sense: a famous person who lives extravagantly and acts immaturely, and gets away with it - nay, is worshipped for it - simply because they are famous.

Ideally I would like to work for someone who is very approachable and down-to-earth (or, indeed, for myself). But failing that, I'd rather work for some faceless corporate bigwig than be surrounded by grovelling fanboys who get excited merely by the prospect that they might spot the boss on the way to the bathroom. I'd rather be soulless than a sycophant.

Because where do you go from sycophant? Your ambition at that point is either to become a rockstar's right-hand-man - sort of a real-life The Cheat - or a rockstar in your own right. Except that right-hand-men are pretty pathetic in real life, and the rockstar's life is not for me - my distaste for sycophancy comes back into play here.

I also don't want any job that would sound cool to a 10-year-old.

Which works out well, because that's where the rockstars tend to be.


< previous | random | next >


2003-07-29, 3:37 p.m.
rockstars

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...