diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

Try this sometime:

Spend an entire Sunday laying around in a large bed with a girl, two lazy cats, a "Get Smart" marathon on TV Land, a half-dozen bagels, and a copy of Neil Gaiman's "Sandman".

Now that's relaxing. That's what weekends are meant to be. Not this flying out Friday night, running around doing a million things, and flying back in Sunday night, with a scant 10 hours left until work on Monday.

That was how Jenn and I recovered from her highly successful party Saturday night. The guest count was about 20 at its peak - medium-sized by my (lame) standards. Jim didn't end up coming; as this was his last Saturday here, he chose to hang out with his pre-college friends. I applaud his choice, since he's got the rest of his life to hang out with me. Also, I'm glad he wasn't there to see the bad example I was setting, as the party was attended by both our friend Jésus and Señor Cuervo, and I can't turn Jésus down.

I don't know what the cats' excuse was, but they barely moved all day.

Adding to the party's success was the fact that Jenn's high school friends and our college friends intermingled a good deal, to the point where one of the latter got phone numbers from two of the former in order to invite them to future parties. Jenn's high school friends are very cool, especially the ones who were at the party. I envy her for having kept in touch with them, and for having made friends in high school that remained friends through college. I feel horrible about having almost completely lost touch with everyone from back home who isn't family, but at the same time I don't really have any interest in catching up with most of them for any reason other than pure curiosity. I'm wondering if the same thing will happen after college, as I'm becoming less and less sad about the prospect of graduating, but I have a feeling it'll be different. I don't foresee myself changing as much as I did over the last few years, and I'm also managing to keep in pretty good touch with those who have graduated before me.

Enough speculation and maudlin sentimentality. As I was saying, Jenn's friends are cool. My favorite pre-party quote from Jenn: "I have no idea how Jess got so cool. I mean, I was there the whole time."


< previous | random | next >


2001-08-06, 10:57 a.m.
true relaxation

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...