diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

I had the job interview today, and it went exceedingly well - better than any job interview I've had in the past. Knowing the interviewer personally certainly helped me loosen up a lot.

The person she interviewed before me had something like 6 years of hardcore usability experience, and basically totally smoked me.

But! They're looking for a lot of help, and the tool I've been working on for the last year, which I showed her, made her think that I'd be perfect for another project which requires more technical skills than the other people she's interviewing have. She's totally stoked, she's going to talk me up to her boss. It might just be a half-time consulting thing at first, where I'd be able to work from home, so I wouldn't mind doing the workaholic thing for a little while to keep my benefits and stuff here. She says the money is really good, like really good.

It's weird, because I've been thinking of this job as almost a liability. People like to pigeonhole you based on past work experience, and I certainly don't want to be stuck in research. As it turns out, though, it may help me get my foot in the door at this place with my technical skillz.

They're totally hurting for help, so she said she'd get back to me by Thursday at the latest. Fast turnaround! I like it.

Wish me luck, dudes.


< previous | random | next >


2004-03-29, 1:08 p.m.
foot in the door

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...