diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

The trip to VPI was fine, as such things go. Prof. J's student turned out to be quite the talkative one. The whole trip down - and back - he talked about the study he ran when he was an undergrad, the conferences he'd been to, all matter of academic politics... it was clear that academia is where this kid wants to be.

Which is fine, except it reminded me that it's not where I want to be.

Don't get me wrong, I'm not burned out on my job yet. The projects I'm working on are still interesting, I'm still enjoying the work. I just don't want to get stuck. I got burned on the first research project I ever worked on, finding out halfway through that the work I was doing would just be lost to the ages, that nobody would ever benefit from it. And I see shit like this, and I feel like I could be making people's lives easier.

I'm reminded of a Mitch Hedberg bit: "As a comedian, they want you to do other things besides comedy. They say, 'Alright, you're a comedian. Can you write? Write us a script. Act - act in this sitcom.' They want me to do shit that's related to comedy, but it's not comedy, man. It's not fair. It's as though I was a cook, and I worked my ass off to become a really good cook. And they said, 'Alright, you're a cook. Can you farm?'"

I don't mind farming right now, but I'm afraid if I farm too long, I might become a farmer.

On a brighter note, I found out that Prof. J used to ride a motorcycle. This is probably amusing only if you've met her.

P.S.: Okay, fine, I admit it - Halo is not a bad game.


< previous | random | next >


2003-10-19, 7:34 p.m.
farming

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...