diaryland

guestbook

diarist.net registry

rings
< previous | random | next >

Last Thursday was the deadline for my grad school application.

Being the good little application monkey that I am, I had it in about two weeks early.

On Friday, checking my e-mail from Jenn's parents' house, I received the following message:

Subject: your application

Hi Carl

I received your application for the Accelerated Masters program--

you are missing

1) transcripts

2) resume

3) $65 fee

4) letters of recommendation from Jxxx Axxxxxxx and Dxxx Mxxxxxx

Please make sure these get to me soon--your application is incomplete

without them.

Thanks,

Mxxxxxx

Even ignoring for a moment that my name most decidedly is not "Carl", this was somewhat disturbing to me.

Jenn approached from behind me, read this, and helpfully noted, "Well, it looks like you're screwed."

After freaking out for a moment, spurred on by the "stop whining and freaking do something about it" tone in Jenn's voice, I entered damage control mode. I e-mailed my resume, a copy of which I keep in my school account for easy attachment to e-mail. I also informed them that I'd be dropping by on Monday to fork over the fee and a transcript. I also e-mailed my two recommendors, informing them that they needed to get on the ball.

Well, I got a response from Prof. A in less than half an hour saying he'd just sent it in, and Dr. M e-mailed me yesterday to say he'd have it in by the end of the weekend.

I guess it just goes to show you that no matter how prepared you think you are, chances are you'll still screw something up.


< previous | random | next >


2001-11-04, 4:30 p.m.
damage control

latest entries

2004-09-14, 6:44 p.m.
exodus

2004-09-13, 11:28 a.m.
iSoul

2004-08-27, 2:26 p.m.
ho

2004-08-18, 10:01 a.m.
sorry

2004-07-20, 2:11 p.m.
everything I do

more...